#MicroblogMondays: G is for glasses

10 days ago, SB got glasses. This wasn’t a complete surprise – she was referred to an ophthalmologist at one year old, because we (parents, pediatrician and well-meaning relatives) suspected she might be squinting. The expert actually disagreed, but in a vision test her eyes came back at +3 and -3. She said to come back in a few months, and if the gap persisted, we’d need to do something. In the spring, her eyes measured +3 and +4*,  so both farsighted. We got another “wait and see” appointment for September, but recently, her caregivers told me that they think she has some trouble seeing at near distances, and that she falls more than usual.

It’s something I find so hard to judge – most of the time I only see this one strawberry. Yes, she tumbles sometimes. More than others? I can’t tell. She can pick out details in books, but I’ve since read that children can compensate for farsightedness, making the problem harder to spot. But, between the observations of loving caregivers who see many toddlers and the ophthalmologist’s assessment, I called the doctor’s office again. They said that there isn’t much one can do with small kids but try.

So we took our prescription to the city’s child optometrist – where SB tried to put on a few frames and quickly decided this game wasn’t as much fun as it first seemed. I already got discouraged, but then she went back to the first frames she had tried – and kept them on. So we had our choice. Pink. Not the color or style her parents would have picked (“Don’t you want to try these Captain-America-colored-ones?”**) but as she’s the one who has to wear them…

Timing was rather bad when we picked them up – she was tired and wanted milk, plus it was pouring rain. She screamed through most of the few minutes of fitting, done by the  kindest and most patient optometrist I’ve ever seen. Once we left the store, she quickly pushed them off and wasn’t having any of it.

It didn’t help that H isn’t particularly supportive of the glasses. He’s been wearing glasses himself since  his teens – turns out he hates them. (I’m suspecting he may have been teased as a teenager, but didn’t press the issue.) He says he doesn’t find SB as cute with glasses on, which breaks my heart for both of them.

On Monday I dropped her off at daycare and put the glasses on her – and I’m told they stayed on for most of the day. For most of the week. Amazing. At some point after pick-up she still pushes them off and then doesn’t want me to put them on again. Overall, I’m glad she gets several hours with glasses at daycare, and I hope that with time she realizes they help her see better / more effortlessly. She’s a rather stubborn kid, and I don’t want to get into a situation where she pushes them off at daycare, too. On the weekend she kept pushing them off again, until sometime yesterday, when they stayed on for an hour or so.

Any experiences with toddlers in glasses? Please share :)

 


* I still find the change surprising, but I’m not an expert in how accurate these measurements are. The first was without atropine (pupil-widening) drops, the second with. Her glasses prescription is slightly lower than those measurements.
** She recently got a blue star-spangled onesie with red trimmings from grandma, and I call her Captain America when she wears it.

More MicroblogMondays

23 thoughts on “#MicroblogMondays: G is for glasses

  1. I have a friend with twin three year olds who’ve worn glasses for at least a year. I’ll try to remember to ask her for tips next time I see her! I know her kids’glasses have a stretchy strap in the back.

  2. De-lurking to share my experience with glasses: We have b/g twins who will be 3. In Feb., our son was given his first prescription for glasses. We decided we would let him take his time adjusting to the glasses. We told him if he needed time with them off, he should ask for a break. This worked really well, and as he got used to them he asked for fewer breaks – and/or we could distract him by setting kitchen timers (and a few M&M bribes, I’m not too proud to admit). Not sure how verbal your daughter is, but you could teach her a sign for break? He was definitely better about keeping them on at daycare, but now wears them from morning until night (taking them off at nap time) with no problems. They did have to change his prescription (stronger – yikes!) but even the new lenses weren’t that hard for him to get used to. Your daughter is adorable – but I do remember looking at my son the first time (with his +4.25, now he has bifocals – he has turning issues, too) and having tears spring to my eyes – he didn’t look like himself at first, but now there’s a new normal. I just think about all the amazing things there are to help children, and I’m grateful for the glasses: he falls less, his eyes no longer turn (we had to do patching too), and I think he really is happier throughout his day. Good luck!

  3. Sorry husband, but he’s wrong. I think babies in glasses are the CUTEST thing ever! Seriously, I’ve threatened on more than one occasion just to get glasses with no prescription because I find them that adorable! Now, how you convince a toddler to wear said glasses, I have no idea. : /

  4. She looks adorable! What a scary and frustrating experience, but she looks like an absolute doll in them.

  5. She is adorable in her glasses. My thought is that if she is wearning them for most of the day in Day Care, she must appreciate the improvement.

  6. She looks absolutely adorable!! When Isaac got glasses a couple months ago, we went with miraflex frames and I’m so glad we did! They are soft and bendy and my son says they are really comfortable. Also pretty much unbreakable, which is good because every time he has a little temper tantrum, he throws his glasses 😁. But they have an elastic band around the back of the head, which keeps them on and doesn’t feel weird on his ears. Plus they come in a jillion colors – he picked bright orange, of course ;). We tell him that he needs to wear them to make his eyes stronger and that pretty soon he’ll have superhero vision :). He’s got a pretty severe astigmatism in one eye and the other eye was compensating so well that no one had a clue until we were referred to a pediatric ophthalmologist for a blocked tear duct!

    1. Thanks for sharing, Sarah! It is a little scary how easily this can go undetected. SB’s glasses also seem almost indestructible, which is good. Where did you get the strap? I don’t think it’s common here, but it sounds like it could come in handy.

  7. She is absolutely adorable with those glasses! I hope that your husband is able to make the adjustment. I was never teased for having my glasses, but I can imagine how having been teased can really put you off them — parents always want their children’s lives to be easier and smoother than their own were.

    1. Thanks, glad to hear that. He hasn’t really come round yet, but I think we’re getting there. Slowly.
      So true about parents wanting their children’s experiences to be easier and smoother and better than their own…

  8. No experience with toddler glasses, but fwiw, SB looks immensely cute with or without her glasses. And giving her the opportunity of 20/20 vision is a pretty worthwhile endeavor.

  9. I work for an ophthalmologist as a certified ophthalmic assistant. I can tell you without a doubt that the refraction done while she was dilated is the more accurate one. Children can accommodate very easily, so it’s important that the measurements are taken while they are dilated to avoid accommodation and get more accurate measurements. At her age it’s very difficult to get exact measurements, but I’ll sure you’ll follow up yearly and they will adjust as needed. I unfortunately do not have any advice on getting her to wear them, but hopefully she will do that on her own once she realizes how much they help:) She looks absolutely adorable in them!

Leave a Reply

