Day two 

The kids were getting ready do go outside when we arrived, so I put SB in playground gear and out we went. There was so much to look at that I think she barely registered how I handed her to yesterday’s teacher and kissed her goodbye. Then another teacher led me to their staff room and even brought me some coffee and a pastry. I proceeded to write the first (!) entries into SB’s baby book. Meanwhile, poor SB realized that mommy wasn’t there and was decidedly unhappy with this. Only strangers speaking a strange language. (I really can’t tell how much the latter affects her. She has heard it for months on the playground now, so it can’t be totally unfamiliar.) They held and carried her, but after about 10 more minutes decided that it was time for me to come back. Even in my arms SB complained for another while, though with interruptions. I hope she doesn’t start crying the moment we get there tomorrow. 

  

9 thoughts on “Day two 

  1. How old is SB? Gwen was 13 months when we moved from the Netherlands to Germany (though she got/gets 100% English at home), and 15 months when she started kindergruppe in German. I had cause to recently reread my journal entries from her first week transitioning in (NOT a fun time in our lives, that’s for sure), and if SB’s roughly the same age and you’d find reading similar experiences helpful, the posts are from February 2012.

    Gwen was just beginning to talk (in English) when she started kindergruppe, and once she started being exposed to so much German all the time, she suddenly stopped — for about a month she didn’t speak any words, not even the handful she had previously had. And then things exploded in both languages — that month was basically a “whoa, all this new linguistic input!” period. I’m sure that that played a role in her transition period.

    1. Thanks for sharing! I’m so sorry you all had this rough transition. SB is almost 11 months and doesn’t speak [recognizable words] yet. I’m actually really impressed Gwen caught up so quickly – some people warned me SB might not speak before she’s two (though who knows, obviously every kid is different). Did Gwen hear Dutch in her first nursery, it was that in English? I’m curious about what the effect of SB’s early exposure to English will be… (She still hears quite some English now, as that is how we talk to many colleagues, other parents and her caregivers, but there’s much less English directly addressing her.)

  2. Awww SB. Don’t worry too much mama- she will get used to her new surroundings. It might take a little bit though since she is so used to being around you all the time!

  3. I’m impressed with how many languages SB has been exposed to. My husband’s family’s native language is not English and I’m a little sad to think that A won’t really know this other language (all the cousins/siblings raised in the US speak English, even though they are all fluent in the native language). I’m sure it’s quite a change for both of you, but I’m sure she’ll be used to it and enjoying it in no time.

    1. That’s sad about B’s native language. So he speaks English with his siblings? I have to say I find it quite hard to speak anything but German to SB. Especially if you have another language in the family, maybe there is a way to find an immersion program or so?

Leave a Reply

