park potato

I always envisioned pregnancy as a time when I’d be strong and glowing and active. Well, not quite so much, at least not on the active front. I do go to work, but try to fit in a break mid-day when I can lie down and rest for a bit. After walking for about 15 minutes I start to feel discomfort or sometimes pressure in the pelvic area. Not particularly reassuring, but whenever I had things checked out my cervix always measured fine. It might just be a bad/weird case of round ligament pain, my doctor isn’t quite sure, but as long as my cervix looks good he’s not worried. Oddly, it’s just walking – I can do yoga or stand in the kitchen or go swimming for much longer than 15min without much of an issue. But, as walking doesn’t seem to be a good option, and as I’m not likely to take any chances, on weekends we mainly go to the park across the street, do some rather short walks and then lie on a blanket reading or talking. And to be honest, I don’t mind.

Strawberry Baby, in contrast, is quite active. I love feeling her move, although sometimes I worry she might break the bubble housing her (virtually impossible, I know, but that’s what bad experiences do to your mind…) – but of course whenever I don’t feel her for a while I get worried, too. Yesterday night she was kicking so hard that I couldn’t fall asleep! After about 10min one of us got tired enough that I fell asleep, and since I still sleep like a rock catching up was easy, it was just so unexpected. It amazes me how strong she’s become in just these few weeks since I started feeling little flutters around 18 or 19 weeks. Maybe she’s practicing for the 2034 World Cup?

5 thoughts on “park potato

  1. It warms my heart to hear so many good updates about Strawberry Baby. Love that you’re feeling her move and she’s so active!! I think it’s totally fine to listen to your body and do what feels right as far as exercise. All those other activities are great exercise!

  2. I’m sure I’d be much the same as you on the walking around front if I’d been through your experiences. Just keep listening to your body, it seems to be working for you. Sitting in a park on a blanket sounds awesome to me!

  3. It’s tough to walk a lot as the pregnancy progresses. I’m a big walker, but couldn’t do much of it when I was pregnant. Glad you are finding a lovely green area to throw a blanket and enjoy the weekend days. Sounds amazing!
    I’m very reassured to see you get to viability, my friend.

Leave a Reply

